Lists and random thinking.

*Things you can see on the road in Ecuador

-Broken down cars or trucks

-A dead horse

-A dead puppy

-Many dead coackroaches on their back (kind of like helpless turtles)

-Dead hibiscus flowers

-A marble that brings you right back to childhood.

*One thing that makes you ponder about efficiency and lose faith in human intelligence in whatever country you may happen to be:

-Banks.

*Possible future job if you ever settle in Cuenca:

-that one person that helps select films for the film festival needs a hand. Seriously…. The 3 out of 12 I found sooooo bad.

I went to the university to talk with the English department head about that film course description I submitted about a month ago, as a possible free course if they have students interested.

I think the guy had not read that one page. And started like this:

-“I don´t think we need a film course. However could you teach a Writing Course?”

After I explained that my main job here is at the highschool, and that designing a writing course which would be part of the curriculum would be a huge task that would require too much time outside of my main job, I think he got the point (aka, “hell no!”) and “will ask the dean”.

Shall see. I might just go to the other university in town and try the whole thing again.

Teaching a film class would be a great way to have a Bubble of fresh air, English interaction with Ecuadorians who are there because they want to, and a great way to learn about Ecuadorian culture listening to Ecuadorian students´point of views on English-speaking films, just like I learnt so much about Chinese students by their reactions to the films I showed them.

Patience is gold.

I am learning. I am trying to learn.

I also realized this morning that in China the environment at my site was pretty ugly but the job was very cool. The freedom of being my own master and working with students directly, of creating my own classroom rules and having (mostly) sweet eager kids who would be excited by ANYTHING new from “the West” were pretty nice. Here the environment is gorgeous but the job takes some getting used to. It is hard to work with people who don´t want to work. I know that in every single job there´s one or two who don´t want to work. But not all! Also being younger than my teachers who need to be treated like kids and forced into coming to workshop is not the most pleasant feeling. But I am in my first two months at site, I have to remember myself I am building these relationships and need to double my effort to find this community that makes any experience abroad incredible. In China, having been sent to a university with students 2-3-4 years younger than me, I didn´t have to look very far to find it. Here, in a city full of retired gringos, working in a high school / middle school were kids and teachers are busy and are exposed to everything American, it´s harder. I have to broaden things up a bit and be bold.

Also, once my teachers realize that they might lose their job if they don´t take that TOEFL test more seriously, my job might get way easier.

Have a good week-end pengyous.

M

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

